Parents Of Student Who Brought Gun To School Face Weapons Charges

By KevinMarcilliat, In Weapons Charges, 0 Comments

Both the mother and the father of a 7-year-old who took a loaded gun to school have been charged with failure to secure a firearm from a minor, a Class I misdemeanor in North Carolina. Students reported the gun to school officials who then found and seized the weapon from the 7 year old.

It’s unknown at this point why the child brought the gun to school. No one was injured; the gun was never fired. The student reportedly faces disciplinary action from the school district.

Alexander County sheriff’s deputies responded to the report of a gun at the school and parents were alerted.

Weapons Offenses In North Carolina

Weapons crimes in North Carolina may be categorized as a misdemeanor or felony. The classification of the charge will depend on the type of weapon involved and the circumstances of the event in question. Although the Second Amendment guarantees the right to bear arms, there are limitations placed on that right by city, state and federal laws.

North Carolina does not allow an individual to carry a concealed weapon off of your own property unless you first secure a permit to do so. A concealed-carry violation can include carrying brass knuckles or knife, in addition to a firearm. Additional gun offenses include:

  • Guns are not allowed on school property nor are they allowed in bars.
  • If you have been convicted of a felony, your right to bear arms is also restricted.

The use of a firearm during the commission of a drug crime can trigger heightened penalties if convicted of the drug charges.

Source: WSOCTV, “7-year-old brought gun to elementary school, officials say,” April 25, 2013